Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know what alot of you are thinking... Cheap Zebco push button crap! Right? I agree that 95% of the spincast reels out on the market are in fact, pure junk. (not just zebco) The Pro Staff 888 is an exception...

I've been using nothing but these 888's for the past 3 years and I love them. I've hauled in dozens of big cats and carp in the 20-35 pound range with ease. Sure the drag is not the smoothest and the retrieve could be a bit faster, but for me, that beats picking out birds nests in the middle if the night after I've had a few cold ones! And yes, I do know how to throw spinning and baitcaster reels. I choose to use spincasters for cat and carp fishing.

Anyways, the first thing you have to do to these reels in order for them to perform well is change the line and make sure you don't overfill it. I have all 5 of mine spooled with 25lb Big Game in Solar Collector. The reel casts a mile. Also ya gotta love these big power handles. Feels great cranking the big boys in! The one flaw that these reels do have is the back cover/thumb button is plastic. I wore out the "ears" on the button on one.

I called Zebco and they sent me a new cover at no charge, they have great customer service. Also take note, the 888 is totally rebuildable! The reel comes with a parts list.

The gears... Heavy duty indeed. Has 3 bearings, 2 for the handle, 1 for the drive. Pretty smooth feel overall. The base is all metal too which is a good thing. The bait clicker is made well too, never failed me once. Also take note, the metal clicker tab can be "adjusted" to make it louder by giving it more contact by bending it some. Just something I figured out. Hope you all enjoyed my review. Rip lips and fish on!

· Registered
1,138 Posts