Yamaha 2 stroke question

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by SwiftWater, Apr 2, 2006.

1. SwiftWater

SwiftWater New Member

State:
    Central Virginia
    I'm new to the world of outboards. I own a new 05, 25hp outboard and have used it twice in a lake. I'm still in the break in stage. I have 2 questions.

1. Is it normal for water to be coming out of the exhaust holes on the shaft?

2. After the first outting I parked the boat and trailer. When I went out yesterday I noticed what appears to be a dried up black residue on the inner part of my prop and on the blades. I ran the motor yesterday for about 2 hrs total and there is no reoccurrence of the mystery liquid. Is this gear oil?

I know after the first 10 hrs of use I'm supposed to change the gear oil per the owners manual. I have a total of 4 hours logged on this motor.

2. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Yes it's normal for water to be coming out of the holes.

You should be using a break in mix, which will put more oil out with the unburned fuel. The black residue is from exhaust not gear oil. If it were gear oil, it would be a lighter clear color.

When you do change the lower unit oil, don't worry about the fine hairs of metal on the magnet attached to one of the lower unit plugs. It's normal wear from break in.

3. SwiftWater

SwiftWater New Member

State:
    Central Virginia
    Yes the break in mix is 25:1 and afterwards it is 100:1. I was unsure of the water coming out of the exhaust because the first outing I really didn't pay attention to it. When I went out friday I was 7 miles from the ramp when I noticed the water coming out of the exhaust and to tell you the truth I was kind of worried. Thanks for the help, BobPaul.

4. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    You better recheck that 100:1 mix.

Never heard of a small Yamaha in 2005 running on 100:1

5. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill