WOW!

Discussion in 'LOCAL MICHIGAN TALK' started by ROYDOG, Jun 9, 2008.

1. ROYDOG

ROYDOG New Member

State:
    Charlotte, Mich
    Well brothers, I just got back from a little trip of scouting and water level.... everywhere i went in southern michigan is overflowing the banks somthin' fierce.....I hate to say that it may be a week or so before it will be any good...or maybe I am wrong. I am very new at this. I guess this would be a good time to learn something........Is this the case with the water level this high?...thanks

2. uapipefitter

uapipefitter New Member

State:
    potterville,mi
    Hey Roy, one of my best cattin' days came from a day I should have stayed home. I was fourteen (now 33) me and a buddy went to our favorite spot in Grand Ledge and when we got there it was flooded. Where I fish there is a steep bank with about twenty feet of shoreline and when we arrived there was no shoreline, just bank. We actually cut a trail into the bank and scaled out to a little ledge and fished off it. The water was chocolate milk colored and fast. We saw actual trees floating by. On this day in a matter of three hours we caught twenty two channel cats all on night crawlers. We took them to the grain elevator where my buddies grandpa worked and weighed them in our fish basket. Holy smokes thirty three pounds of fish. Now they weren't big fish but to a fouteen year old thats a big deal especially in front of my buddies grandpa , who was the fishin' god himself. We kept casting in the same spot, with alot of weight to get our baits down, those cats most have been stacked up there like cord wood. One after another from 9 a.m. till noon and the only reason we quit was because we started getting afraid the bank was going to collapse in. Not the brightest thing I've done but it was alot of fun.

3. ROYDOG

ROYDOG New Member

State:
    Charlotte, Mich