Would this work for catfish chum?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by brewfish, Feb 5, 2008.

1. brewfish

brewfish New Member

State:
    fl
    I brew beer and as a result I end up with a lot of spent grain that gets put in the trash. I know for a fact that this stuff stinks to high heaven if left to "ferment" in a closed enviroment for a few days. Since cats seem to be so attracted to nasty smells is there some way that I might be able to used my spent grain to help me catch some fish? I have thought about taking some old fish guts and what not, blending that up and then mixing that in with the grain and putting it in some type mesh container for chumming.

I've never tried chumming before and don't know if what i'm talking about is worth the effort.

Any thoughts?

Joe

2. ryang

ryang Well-Known Member

State:
    Blacklick, Ohio
    Name:
    Gary
    Try adding floor to it and use as some stink bait. It sounds like it might work tho Ive never chumed

3. Netmanjack

Netmanjack New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Never never add floor! Gary you know better than that. If you want a good stink bait every ones knows that you should only add ceiling. It will stay on your hook and float up off the bottom. lol:smile2::smile2::smile2::smile2:

4. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent
    Yes it should work well, may take a few days or so to get going but some of the better spots here on the rivers are at the loaders docks where the grain spills over all the time, so your left over should attract some fish also, I would give it a shot, if it is ok to do so in your area, make sure you can use chum first, some places don't allow it.

Now a sample of the beer we could give ya a better answer:wink: :smile2:

If not I would think you could get rid of it to a farmer, if your just looking for a place to dispose of it.

5. dust777man

dust777man New Member

State:
    SC
    I believe it would work well as chum.

6. catfishcrazy256

catfishcrazy256 New Member