Winter Drift?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by SC Hartwell, Nov 20, 2006.

How do you fish in the winter?

1. Anchored

2. Drifting

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. SC Hartwell

SC Hartwell New Member

State:
    Pickens, SC
    I just wanter to know who drifted in the winter and who anchored. I'm trying to figure this out!

2. BAM

BAM New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I do both, depending on conditios as to which I try first.

3. Pastor E

Pastor E New Member

State:
    Beebe AR
    Both It depends on the weather:smile2:

4. superman

superman New Member

State:
    DeSoto MO
    i stop drift fishing about mid october and don't start again till spring

5. rcneman

rcneman New Member

State:
    TN
    I'm somewhat new to drift fishin. Did it a bit in the spring.

Tried driftin this past weekend and i learned it's not good to get hung up in a fairly strong current with 3 poles in the water...lol
    I was alone(well, i had my dog with me, but she don't like to reel in lines too much :big_smile: ) ..so gettin the other 2 poles in, firing up the main motor and gettin back up the river to where i was hung was not fun....not to mention all the debri that kept snaggin my line. The trollin motor wouldn't pull me up the river.

6. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I voted for anchored. Mostly, because where I live, any water that is not flowing is frozen. So I am ice fishing then. That is kind of like anchored - isn't it ?

7. Arkansascatman777

Arkansascatman777 New Member

State:
    AR
    I mostly anchor fish mainly because I like fishing the tree stumps and the edge of drop offs. But drifting the 10 to 15 ft. flats can also produce very well this time of year.

8. ShilohRed

ShilohRed New Member

State:
    West Tn
    I do both. What ever works at that time is what I like to do.
    Pete

9. flatheadhunterx

flatheadhunterx Active Member

State:
    South Carolina