Winter Blues?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by CJ21, Dec 25, 2007.

1. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Do any of guys fish for Bluecatfish in the winter? and do you have any tips?

2. biga

biga Well-Known Member

State:
    evansville
    this is my first year fishing for winter blues but the water has been really high the last few weeks soi havent got to fish like i wanted to...

3. BAM

BAM New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I fish all winter, about the only thing I change is the depth of water I fish. Most fish tend to go deeper as the water cools, although there are exceptions. And you may want to try downsizing your bait some.

4. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC
    That's the only time I really fish for them. When it's warm I'm after the flatties. I'd say fish deep and I dunno if downsizing your baits will work or not. We have caught them on everything from small 3-4in. shad to half and three quarter pound chunks of shad. Almost all the big fish we've caught came on the big baits. Also try around bridges and docks/pillings if you're fishing a river. They create nice current eddies and you don't need a depth finder to locate them. Hope this helps.

5. RandyH

RandyH New Member

State:
    VA
    this is the best time of the year for big blues dont worry about holes to much target travel areas as they are moving more now that the water is cold and holding up in warmer water try frishing cut banks and or shallow flats great time as i said and you can land some hogggggggggggs
    merry xmas

6. prostreetS10

prostreetS10 New Member

State:
    ohio
    This is also my first year for fishing blues in the winter. seems to be great for me. Little slow lately but i would try using cut shad and skip jack:wink:

7. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Ok thanks for the tips guys, I am wondering do they hang out below the dam?

8. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State: