Windy Fishing 11-15

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by BigBird, Nov 15, 2008.

1. BigBird

BigBird New Member

State:
    Charlotte, NC
    I was planning all week to go fishing today but knew it would be tough with the wind gusting. Couldnt bring myself to stay at home.
    My thought was to get on the lake early and get a few hours in before the big blow. Slept four hrs and on the water before daybreak.
    The fishin was great but the catchin-not so good. Shad was 30 feet deep and only got a couple dozen threadfin. Also caught a couple bream and a couple perch. Live bait was hard to catch with all the freshwater and wind. In retrospect I spent too much time rounding up bait.
    I am new at the drifting game so utilized my time today to practice. -I had two drift buckets and a drift sock out.
    Called it quits before noon due to the white cappping..
    Gave the boat a good run in the caps to get rid of the $4 gas to make room for the $2 stuff. Put in a new bilge pump this week so was not worried about the cappin. Turns out i didnt get any water in boat and didnt need to use it but feel better about finally having it operational.
    Later,
    Lindsay

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    drifting can be tough and its hard to learn how to do it so practice days are a good thing

3. Shimano

Shimano New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    You are definatley a die hard. I was planning to go striper fishing this morning and called it off last night when I saw the weather report.:sad2:

4. billfish76

billfish76 Active Member

State:
    Rock Hill, SC
    I braved the weather today and went to Wateree to chase the stripers. Strong winds and waves were what we had all day. Caught 2 and missed about 5, caught 5 small cats also. Im going to Mt Island tomorrow hoping the winds lay down a bunch.

Which lake did you hit today???

5. BigBird

BigBird New Member

State:
    Charlotte, NC