Why use a leader while catfishing?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by TxRiverman, May 8, 2006.

1. TxRiverman

TxRiverman New Member

State:
    Lockhart Tx
    Since Im new to the sport of catfishing,Ive got a ton of questions. And one of them is ,Why the use of a leader?

2. Gator

Gator New Member

State:
    Ludowici GA
    A leader will keep the bait away from your weight and is normaly heaver line than the main and that will help to keep the fishies teeth from fraying the main line and also helps you to keep from getting cut off so much.

3. Cherokee

Cherokee New Member

State:
    Salyersville,Ke
    Good answer i need to start using leaders .

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    I found out earlier on the board, that if your using a surf rod to chunk lead weights, you should use a shock leader. This leader should be the length of your pole plus two or three turns on the reel once in a casting position. And, I believe it was supposed to be 10 times the weight of the lead your casting...a 5 oz sinker should have a 50# shock leader. I can see where this is needed as I have personally put some lead into a near earth orbit. lol

5. TxRiverman

TxRiverman New Member

State:
    Lockhart Tx
    I thought that was the reason. But I always thought the more connections you have on your main line the weaker it got,because of the knots. So what ive been doing to get a little space between my bait and my weight,is to use put a bead between my weight and hook. Then i use a rubber weight stop like the bass fishermen use and peg the bead where ever i want it. Now the weight cant slide past where the bead is pegged. It seems to work pretty good for me,but Im not fishing a big river like most of yall. By the way im using 3oz. no-roll sinkers with 65lb braid

6. IL Hunter

IL Hunter New Member

State:
    Normal, IL
    It keeps the bait away from the weight and it helps get rid of line twist.

7. trfoster

trfoster New Member

State: