Why cant I catch the big blue catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by CATDADDY78, Apr 7, 2006.

1. CATDADDY78

CATDADDY78 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    ive been fishing the missouri river for 3 years and only landed a 32 lb. blue but that was 2 years ago. I need some tips on where to fish the missouri and how. I usually fish on the tips of wing dikes, cut banks, and cut out wing dikes . i use 3 peen reels with 8' heavy action rods lined with 85 lb stren super braid rigged carolina style. I use a variety of baits, fresh shad, cut shad, suckers, herring, worms:eek: old deer meat,hot dogs ect. i dont know what im doing wrong not to be catching big blues. i normally go out eary morning or right before dark. am i fishing too close, too far, do i have to have my bait suspended and how?, do i have to have my bait sitting on the down slope of a hole what is it guys please help me i have the fever for the flavor of a big blue.

Thanks good luck to everyone

2. Bigmagic

Bigmagic New Member

State:
    Edwards Missouri
    When your boat is anchored and you've got all your lines it you have to hold your lips right! lol Just kidding! Seriously use large indigenous bait fish shallow at night on the Missouri. Shallow sand bars between dikes are good. Fish those deep holes in the daytime epecially outside bends. If there are any barges in your area toss some bait under them as well. Now if you catch any biguns using these tips its strictly CPR! Keep a few to eat and let them biguns make more biguns. See ya on the water!

3. davemo

davemo New Member

State:
    mo