Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay was talking to a friend last night and he was telling me about a catfish I had never heard of. He said he caught them on the wabash all the time. Said they could get up to 100 pounds but said the biggest one he caught was 30-40 pounds. He said it was a white catfish and it had a hump on it's back. Said it stayed in the swifter waters... Said he had caught them right out in front of our cabin. I've been fishing there for 8 years now and never caught or seen one. Let alone heard of one... Anyone have an idea what he was talking about. He know's his fish and he wasn't pulling my leg either... Is it something that's not really a catfish???
BB

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Aaron if you have fished there 8 yrs. I would bet you have caught white
cats too. Most white cats are not white but blue/gray. Most people think
they are channels. The best way to tell a white from a channel is to
count the rays on the anal fin. I think a white has 19 to 23 rays but
I am not positive. You can look it up google catfish ID. I doubt a
white would ever weigh 100 lbs. The ones I have delt with run
very close to what a channel would weigh.

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
a few years ago i caught a albino cat up at the railroad tressels north of 40 bridge but it was only maybe a 1/2 lb i didnt even know it was hooked til i reeled in to check my bait.

·
Registered
James N ... Central California.
10,295 Posts
not a white cat they don't get but about 5 lbs avg world record is like 22 lbs. He may have had a white blue cat at 30 lbs. remember white catfish are not white in color almost a black with a off white belly without looking at the tail and anal fin most will think its a channel cat

here is a link to help out White Catfish Fish Identification
True a few years ago some teenage kid's up were my son lives caught a Cali record white cat it went i belive in the 20# range .

·
Registered