Where to start looking for those honey holes on a lake?

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by geihsler, Jul 8, 2006.

1. geihsler

geihsler New Member

State:
    nebraska
    I'm new to boc and love all the info here. Tring to take my catfishing to a more consistant level, I'm need to know where to look for those honey holes in lakes. The internet sites is great for finding spots on a river, but not bank fishing at a local lake. Where to look, and what to look for?
    Thanks for the help

2. LarryW

LarryW New Member

State:
    Abbeville Louisiana
    First off, welcome to the BOC and hope you enjoy your time here.

I think for the answers to your questions you will have to give more information on location of where you are at in Nebraska and what body of water you want to fish if you know.

Next you should post under one of the headings in the Nebraska state forums so that you will target people in your area.

Hope this helps

3. geihsler

geihsler New Member

State:
    nebraska
    Larry I don't need to maps to the holes. I would like the base ideas how to spot a likely place. Finding the secret spot is half the fun right? :big_smile:

4. Gibbzilla

Gibbzilla New Member

State:
    East Texas
    Look for a spot with heavy cover/vegetation. Also, if there's a current, look for a spot where moving water meets still water. Cats always hang out there.

5. only1dman67

only1dman67 New Member

State:
    ohio
    first welcome and I aree this a wonderful site full of info and you can make alot of friends as well hope to hear from you soon.

6. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    Welcome to the board. I would recommend posting under your respective state forum for specific locations. I look for places such as: above and below dams, wherever a creek enters the lake, warm water discharges if available, and the old river channel.

7. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack