The United States Catfish Association Forum and Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
I have a couple spots I go to for big Flatheads and channels but im trying to discover new waters and/or areas for cats. Any info would be nice. This is my largest flysthead at 60# caught last night. View attachment 297038
Hey Tom, that's a beautiful flathead! I'm only in my second year of serious catfish fishing and have had quite a bit of success on channels up to 8lb on the Rock River in the Watertown-Jefferson area.
I am keenly interested in starting to target flatheads (strictly for catch and release) but have not been very successful in garnering information about where to try for them from shore (I don't own a boat and I actually enjoy bank fishing a lot!). I see in your photo that you appear to be fishing from shore. I'd be grateful if you could share any info regarding spots I might try for flats from shore. I live in SE Wisconsin but am willing to travel to pursue flatheads.
Thanks much and I'll be monitoring this forum to see if anyone offers suggestions for flathead fishing options.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Unfortunately, asking a fisherman for spots to fish is like asking a hunter where he has seen all the big bucks. In a way I can't blame them.