Where to catfish these days?

Discussion in 'LOCAL CALIFORNIA TALK' started by gavin310, Dec 20, 2008.

1. gavin310

gavin310 New Member

State:
    Westchester, California
    I live near LAX. I'm pretty new to catfishing and have only tried Irvine, SARL, and Corona lakes for catfish. Only had luck at Corona thanks to BULLDOGBOOGERS. Sometimes you just feel like having some peace and quiet and want to avoid the pay lakes during the day. I know Castaic is supposed to have some cats, but I tried shore fishing the lagoon and the main lake without any luck (this was in the summer months.)

So my question... for shore fishing for cats and trout in the winter, where are some good places to try that aren't too far for me? (50-60 miles from LAX preferred). I know shore fishing for cats is tough to begin with, and it being winter will be even harder, so any advice is appreciated!!! I'd love to try some canals or rivers, but I'm pretty sure all of those are a long drive from LA.

2. centexcop

centexcop New Member

State:
    Texas
    Gavin, welcome to the BOC. Is there a parks and wildlife authority for the state of California? If so, check there website for information about area waters. I could give you a few spots, but they'd be in Texas.:big_smile:

3. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    Welcome to the BOC. I hope that someone can get you in the right direction! I fished Irvine a few times back when I was stationed at El Toro.

4. bluehunter

bluehunter New Member

State:
    Los Angele