Where to begin?...

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by kyboytimbo, Jul 20, 2008.

1. kyboytimbo

kyboytimbo New Member

State:
    Kentucky,Louisville
    hey guys im new to the BOC family, any info would be great!
    I'm currently in the market for some new rods. The reel's im using are two abu 6000's (working on getting 7000's as we speak) but id rather go ahead an get worth while rods. The two rods im more or less leaning towards are quantom big cats or jim moyer the boss's. Most of my fishing is spent on the ohio searching for the biggest blues possible:0a1: Alot of fishing is on a boat, sometimes on the bank. I have two 10' poles now am I'm wanting 7 footers. I'm mainly curious about what type of action i need for this type of fishing. Any other opinions in this price range would be appreciated as well! Thanks for any help possible guys!

2. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
    catfish safari's rods are top shelf, close to the jim moyer rod price wise and their coustomer service is two thumbs up. if youre wanting somthing you can get from the store the 8' big water boat ugly stik is definatly for the big dudes your 6000s would look tiny till you get the 7000s. the 7' bwb rods are different than the 8s they act more like the us tigers witch are also good but not the action i perfer. you mentioned "action" so my opinion, if you are a circle hook user id say go for one like the first two i mentioned those rods flex more taking some of the shock away from the freight train that just took your bait. if you use j hooks and enjoy ripping lips off you might like the tiger more :confused2: youll know what you like when you find it

3. Louisiana Redneck

Louisiana Redneck New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    I agree. The ugly stick is rugged and easy to repair when its not. ::confused2:

4. RandyH

RandyH New Member

State:
    VA