where should i go?

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by drifter000, Apr 24, 2008.

1. drifter000

drifter000 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    I am new to cat fishing. i live in louisville and would like to bank fish the ohio for any kind of cat. anyone have any suggestions on a close location to louisville? what kind of bait should i use? anything would be helpfull.

2. Skipjack

Skipjack New Member

State:
    LaGrange, Ky.
    Welcome Rob, I grew up in Louisville. What part of Lou. do you want to fish?

3. drifter000

drifter000 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    wherever i can catch some cats. i do a lot of bass fishing, but last week i cought an 8 1/2 lb blue cat in the ohio river. that was at otter creek park, but id like to fish closer to home. i dont have a boat so it has to be a bank spot. what is the best bait to use?

4. Skipjack

Skipjack New Member

State:
    LaGrange, Ky.
    The best bait would be shad or blue gill. If you can get you a cast net and practice throwing it at home untill you get it to open, then you can throw it from the bank and get bait from the creeks and river. You can cut them or fish them whole.

5. drifter000

drifter000 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    i will definitely try that. never used a cast net, but ill figure it out. i appreciate the help.

6. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Rob Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois. Look forward to reading your post.:0a23::0a25::0a25:

7. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky