where are the shad this year??

Discussion in 'LOCAL ILLINOIS TALK' started by Johnny B, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Johnny B

Johnny B New Member

State:
    illinois
    I've been catching shad with a cast net for the last four years in the illinois river and the fox river(I live at the joining of these two rivers). This year I have had no luck at catching any shad anywhere in either river this year. We have had two big floods in the spring but does that matter? I have been driving 30 miles just to get bait this year and I don't get it. I would appreciate the help!!!

2. Johnny B

Johnny B New Member

State:
    illinois
    just the regular 3 to 4 inch shad I think they are gizzard shad

3. shanelures

shanelures New Member

State:
    ohio
    have you ever tried the marinas?? here in the maumee river in toledo oh the shad show up in pretty good numbers in the marinas just off the river. the ones that get the most wind toward them is best. hope this helps, shane

4. Johnny B

Johnny B New Member

State:
    illinois
    yes, I've actually tried two marinas where the water is calm and still nothing...I don't get it... I used to go to my buddy's that lives right on the river and throw a cast net just once and get plenty for the whole night. You could also see them in numbers skipping thinking that it were raindrops...Now if you get bait from another pond like shad is it illegal if the shad are dead or if they are used as cut bait?

5. shanelures

shanelures New Member

State:
    ohio
    is there any dams on your river thats close enough?? they should definately produce!! you may have to wade a little to get to them. by the way wecome to the boc! shane

6. Johnny B

Johnny B New Member

State:
    illinois
    i appreciate the tips...I will go down to the wingdam and give it a shot. Thanks again

7. hock_paul

hock_paul New Member

State:
    illinois