Where are the flathead catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by jason berry, Sep 6, 2007.

1. jason berry

jason berry New Member

State:
    Evansville
    If anybody can help me find an area of the Ohio River from the Henderson Boat ramp or a little south to Newburgh Dam or even the Green River that are producing Flathead catfish pretty regurally I would really appreciate some information on the area. I am catching flatheads but not like I would like to. I know there is area around here somewhere that is holding them but this is my first year fishing back here since I got out of the service. You dont have to give me a fishing hole but just around about area. If you would like send me a private message. I fish by myself 90% of the time.

2. Goldenshinner

Goldenshinner New Member

perhaps if no ones willing to giveup their spot, if you describe the river sections to us, the board memebers might be able to help you analyze it for potential better spots... alot of rivers just plain dont have that high of populations to begin with. add to that your starting a search towards the end of the season . that could also be the problem

3. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    Jason, sure wished I knew where, Ive been trying to catch one ever since I moved to Henderson. Heard of a few descent size flatties caught below the Newburgh dam earlier this summer but that it.

4. biga

biga Well-Known Member

State:
    evansville
    jason if you get tired of fishin by your self send me a pm and mabey we could give the big boys a try.. been stuck on bass fishing all my life so i just started getting into catfishing this year so i dont have many good spots but i dont mind trying!:wink:

5. jbarnes17

jbarnes17 New Member

State:
    Commerce, Oklahoma