Where are the flathead catfish in Alabama

Discussion in 'LOCAL ALABAMA TALK' started by BrokenArrow, Aug 23, 2006.

1. BrokenArrow

BrokenArrow New Member

State:
    Alabama
    New to the site.

Where is the best place in North AL to catch flatheads? Thanks in advance.
    I've been fishing between Ditto n Decater catching blues. I'm interested in
    flats.
    BrokenArrow

2. paleocaver

paleocaver New Member

State:
    USA
    Hey Ronnie,

Glad to see you here. I am also relatively new to the immediate area. I grew up fishing Pickwick. Moved here 1.5 years ago. More flatheads there, at least from what I've seen.

As I said in the email last night, I've had very little luck with the flats also. I've fished pretty much every good looking place from G. Dam down to the bluffs at Redstone. Only caught 2, both small, on bluegill. Both were from the base of the bluffs. Plenty of blues, which seem to run a little bigger here than on Pickwick. Consistantly catch 10+ pound fish. Lost a 30+ at the boat last fall. I'm just now targeting larger fish, so I'll break the 50+ barrier soon, I hope.

Do you fish at night? I don't that much but it may be the ticket, according to the majority of folks here. They all seem to fish at night. Also the consensus is that they like a little slower current than blues. Might need to try places like the stretches up the Flint and Paint Rock near their mouths. I know they both are full of trees and a little slower current.

Got to get to work, lets try it soon.

Scott

3. wigginsdano59

wigginsdano59 New Member

State:
    alabama
    any flats in south alabama?

4. BamaCats

BamaCats Member

State:
    Alabama
    i know there are flats down here but havent caught any lately. thy usually can be found in th bends of small creeks and rivers.

5. wigginsdano59

wigginsdano59 New Member

State:
    alabama
    bama cat are u catching anything?

6. BamaCats

BamaCats Member

State:
    Alabama