Where And When To Catch Flatheads ??

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by pete n cat, May 18, 2006.

1. pete n cat

pete n cat New Member

State:
    il.
    HEY GUY'S I AM NEW AT THIS CAT FISHIN .
    WHERE in a river is the best place's to get the fish .
    WHEN. is the best time to get the fish.
    and what kind of bait's should i use.??
    thanks pete:embarassed: :embarassed:
    :baffle:

2. loki1982

loki1982 New Member

State:
    Texas
    Where, I dont river fish so my response is just fomr what ive heard/picked up. You want to find structure that creates a break from the current. Catfish in a river like to sit and let the bait come down river to them. But they dont want to spend energy doing it, so they find a place where they dont feel the current as much. Someone else might be able to give ya some better, or more detailed tips.

When, if you mean time of the year, spring through fall are best. Winter time flatheads slow down.

When if you mean time of the day, flathead are most productive at night, Some people say right around dusk and dawn are best, others say deep into the night.

Bait, by far the best producing bait is live bait. Live perch, carp,eels,crawfish etc. Next is line is cutbait of any of the above. If your targeting flatheads dont try and use things like hotdogs, liver, doughbaits as these are more suited for channels and blues and from my personal experiences rarley ever produce flatheads.

3. Rob Heflin

Rob Heflin New Member

State:
    Mississippi
    Pete,