When to start flat heading

Discussion in 'LOCAL ILLINOIS TALK' started by dragon86, Feb 10, 2008.

1. dragon86

dragon86 New Member

State:
    west frankfort illinios
    I'm kind of new to flathead fishing just started targeting them within the past year. An i was wondering when is a good time of the year to start. I was told about April or May but it seems like i should be able to start sooner. Oh, an I mainly fish Rend Lake so any info on when to start fishing there would be best.

2. TONTO

TONTO New Member

State:
    ILLINOIS
    You should be able to catch some in april, however around the end of february they can be caught in the Carlyle tail race of the Kaskaskia river. I always fish from a boat there is about a 100 yard stretch where they stack up. I use one ounce jigs tipped with a three inch curly tail and a minnow or nightcrawler. Just bounce it along the bottom, sometimes you wont feel them hit other times they smack it like a bass picking up a plastic worm. You catch Sauger as a bonus. Dont know much about flathead fishing in Rend but I am sure there is someone on line who can help you. Hope this helps

3. bluehunter76

bluehunter76 New Member

State:
    Il
    Thanks for the info. Have you had any success with live bait for flats? (Other than crawler and minnow) If so what worked for you?
    Thank you

4. riverrat85

riverrat85 New Member

State:
    Ruma, Illinois
    Tonto

ill be headin down to carlyle at the end of this month or early next month for flats. Usually fish the tailwater but dont have any luck but i have only fished it in the hot months so i would like to try it early. U think i would have any success from the bank or do you always use a boat.

5. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I