When/how do I set the hook?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by GoFish_Tony, May 22, 2006.

1. GoFish_Tony

GoFish_Tony New Member

State:
    Big Rock, IL
    Brothers, I am having a hard time actually getting Cats on shore. Seems like I can get them to take my bait but I am missing getting the hook set. I'm very new to fishing and would greatly appreciate your help.

I'm fishing the Rock River in Illinois and the current is running pretty fast. I use a medium-heavy pole with a spinning reel. The rig I am using is a 1-1/2oz. bottom bouncer with a kayle hook on about 24" of leader. I mostly have been using night crawlers, dip baits or an occasional Berkely Powerbait.

Like I said I get plenty of big bites but by the time I get my pole out of the rod holder and haul it back, it's gone. I have had everything from the "tap-tap-tap" bites as well as the big "take the bait and run" hits.

On rare occasions it will appear as if I have a good hook set but then if I pause at all I lose the fish. This has happened a lot while using the powerbaits. Are my fish latching on to my bait and either they are letting go of my bait while reeling in or I am pulling it out of their mouths?

I personally suspect I am doing a few things wrong all at once, but would love your input.

(Here are a few of my thoughts.)
    *I am using rod holders (fishing from the bank) that hold the rod almost vertical. I think that I spook the fish while trying to sneak the rod out to get ready (which then pulls on the line.) Or if I just yank the rod up and out I am not fast enough to set the hook.

*I am using a Bottom bouncer (lead weight mounted on a kind of T-shaped stiff wire that holds the bait off the bottom). It might hold my line tight, but I am not getting a solid set from the pole to the hook. There are times that I suspect that this whole rig is laying on the bottom of the river and not vertical as it is designed.