When do you start fishing for/catching flathead catfish?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by JAinSC, Mar 2, 2006.

1. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    (I'm fishing in coastal South Carolina.)

Last year I started fishing flatheads twice in April, but didn't catch the first one until May 8th
    (mostly, I think, because of high water and bad timing -
    like fishing on a cold front).

2. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    By the way -
    last April the water temps were 65 and 68 on those 2 fishless trips.

First fish of the year came from 73 degree water. Deffinately were fish active before that. Like I said, I had othetr issues the first 2 trips.

Last (targeted) fish of the year on November 6 (63 degree water), plus one on cutbait on December 4th.

3. CraigO

CraigO New Member

State:
    Tolar, TX
    I'm new to the flatty world. I want to learn how to catch them... heck I'd be tickled to catch just one. I've given up bass fishing and am going back to cattin. Just a question... what are some generic guidelines for finding a flat? I know they are predators. I know local conditions vary so much it's hard to answer. Also, where is the BOC library? I can't find it. thanks

4. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Here in ohio I can usally pick up a few flatheads in april, generally smaller fish..The month of May finds them going on a feeding spree and is my best month, if we are not having floods on our rivers...I usually find that water temps in the 60's the big flats start to turn on, in preperation for the spawn.

5. Riverjake

Riverjake New Member

State:
    Joplin MO
    I usually start in April because thats when the weather starts getting a little warmer and I can't stand being cooped up anymore. Don't catch to many though until May and into early June, the best time of the year for me. Next best is not until October and fishing almost only in the deeper holes.

6. dinkbuster1