When do the hybrid stripers start to run?

Discussion in 'OKLAHOMA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by osageCo_flathead, Oct 30, 2007.

1. osageCo_flathead

osageCo_flathead New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I was told they go at it twice? We always start to catch them in March. I have never went after them in Nov-Dec.

2. skeetermagnet

skeetermagnet New Member

State:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    I've been looking around and can't find any info on them having two spawns. But I'm no hybrid expert either. I caught my fair share of stripers, but I don't know that I've ever caught a hybrid. I hear they will about jerk the rod out of your hands, though.

3. catman george

catman george New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Jamie- Hybrids do not spawn.

Catman george

4. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Individuals are produced by artificially spawning a male white bass with a female striped bass.

5. catman george

catman george New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Jimmyjonny- You are correct. Hybrids will be hitting throughout the winter in Okla

catman george

6. skeetermagnet

skeetermagnet New Member

State:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    Actually....(I hate it when my kids start off a sentence with that word)...hybrids can be produced from the female striper/male white bass cross and are referred to as a Palmetto. The opposite cross, male striper/female white bass is referred to as the Sunshine. The palmetto is the original cross.
    While the hybrids can't breed with each other, they can backbreed (is that a word?) with white bass or stripers, whichever is appropriate.
    I guess that is why you will catch a hybrid occasionally in with stripers.

Now, please take out a half sheet of paper and a #2 pencil, put your books under your desk and write your name on your paper while we take the quiz. :wink:

7. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan