wheel weights for bullets

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by Poppa, Apr 6, 2009.

1. Poppa

Poppa New Member

State:
    Pinson, Al
    I have been pouring sinkers from wheel weights. I have a pretty
    good source for the wheel weight lead. I read that wheel weight
    lead is not pure, they are about 67% lead. Would it be safe and
    not harmful to the guns to pour .54 cal. round balls with this lead?
    For modern guns?

2. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm no expert, but wheel weights have been used to make bullets for a long time. I think that when you melt the lead, most impurities would either sink, or float, so I think it's fine to use.

3. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Actually I think wheel weights are a harder lead alloy. They should make great bullets.

4. Netmanjack

Netmanjack New Member

State:
    Ohio
    FYI, wheel weights are generally 11 percent antimony. As mentioned it makes lead much harder. It also makes it lighter. So I would experiment with your loads to insure accuracy. :wink:

5. canebreaker

canebreaker Well-Known Member

State:
    Southaven,MS
    I've poured .38 spl 120 gr. and 158 gr. bullets from wheel weights for some time. Use your bullet sizer to get true size. If about to get pure lead, mix 10 to 20% with wheel weights.

6. olefin

olefin New Member

State:
    Texas
    I've poured and shot several 1000's of .38/357 wadcutters from wheel weights. I tempered the bullets as I dropped them from the mold into cold water... This is dangerous, if not done with great care! On hot loads I used copper caps under the bullet to reduce barrel leading.

At the 2006 BOC gathering I gave away over 120 lbs of wheel weight lead I had casted into 1lb ingots.

7. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    I wouldn't recommend using any type of harder lead alloy for Muzzle loader projectiles.