Whats the best way to fish a river in the fall?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by recordbreakin1, Oct 14, 2008.

1. recordbreakin1

recordbreakin1 New Member

State:
    texas
    I was wondering if any body could tell me a good method of fishing a big river during the fall and winter months.I was going to try to drift it like a lake but thought I would ask for some advice first.Any info would help thanks.

2. caveman

caveman New Member

State:
    va
    i'm no expert, but i've had good success finding bends in a river with deep holes.

this works for me when the water temps drop down.

warm water, i give up for now.

vaughn

3. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    I like fishing sudden drop offs from shallow to deep water. These transition areas produce well in the fall

4. joer

joer New Member

State:
    columbiaMo
    jesse deep holes. the fish want to conserve enegry and maximze food intake. this means put the bait in their face (but keep it small....chunks) and be ready for light hits on your rod, good luck.

5. patrickgd

patrickgd New Member

State:
    Memphis TN
    I've been having good success using fresh cut Bluegill chunks. Also, If you can stand it, try throwing on a raincoat, carry an umbrella and try fishing while it's raining. I tied my PB last week with a 28 lb. flattie on a very rainy day using the cut Bluegill.

6. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    Drift the deepest water once the water gets below 50 degrees and you should be able to locate them with no problems

7. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    Find the groceries and you will find your fish. Trust your Sonar. Mark lots of bait and the Bigguns shouldn't be to far away. I say this with tongue in cheek. My last two trips fishing have been way less than spectacular.:sad2:

8. Big Sam

Big Sam Well-Known Member

State:
    Booneville AR
    Name:
    Sam