What would you use?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Catfish Willy57, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Catfish Willy57

Catfish Willy57 New Member

State:
    georgia
    I'm new to the BOC but not new to fishing. I would like to tap into some of the knowledge you all have about gearing up for large blues. I fish a lake that has blues over 80lbs. I'm currently using 3 7ft Ugly Stik catfish rods, large spinning reels spooled with 65lb Power Pro with a 30lb mono leader. I use standard stick in the ground rod holders that hold the rods at approx a 45 degree angle. I sink these rod holders a minimum of two feet in the ground. Last Friday, I had one hit that pulled the rod holder out of the ground, rod went into the lake, I went in the lake, grabbed the rod, leader snapped, fish is still in the lake. My fault, the drag was set to tight. I've landed blues between 30lb and 40lb with no problems but these big ones seem a little large for my equipment. I would like the rods not to cost over $30 and the reels not over $30. Let me know your thoughts on line weight and hook size and preferences. I fish cut bait 90% of the time. I appreciate and look forward to your recommendations.

Catfish Willy57

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    First of all welcome. Only thing I will say is "Why take a knife to a gun fight" $30 reels in my opinion are gonna perform that way. JMO

3. Catfish Willy57

State:
    georgia
    Price on the reels is a guess. Don't want them to break the bank. What are some of the better spinning reels out there within reason?

Thanks,

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho