What would you suggest?

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by flathead willie, Dec 20, 2009.

1. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    I am about out of the powder that I've been using for several years. I load both 30-30 and 30-06 with it. I want to try a new recipe with the new can of powder. My book is pretty old and the IMR 3031 is the best overall performance in both guns from the 30 year old charts I have. Does anyone have a newer book with some newer powders? I'm looking for one powder that will work well in both calibers. Any ideas?

I load 170 and 180 grain flat nose or soft round point bullets.

I've been loading 27 grs. of IMR 3031 in the 30-30.

I load 45 grs. of IMR 3031 in the 30-06.

Both leave plenty of empty room in the case.

2. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri

3. flathead willie

State:
    Virginia
    How many grains for a 170-180 grain bullet?

4. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Billie,Do a printout of the load recipes you want at this website
    www.hodgdon powder.com I have several pages printed that I add to my list of load recipes when I'm looking for a different one. ok well the link wont work,But their website has some cool stuff.

Last edited: Dec 21, 2009
  5. BubbaCat

BubbaCat Well-Known Member

State:
    Arizona
    :007: you going to let the genie out of the lamp. better stick to IMR3031 .
    Any place you find powder should have free new literature . there are so many to choose from nowadays.

6. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Thanks for clearing that up Matt.

7. flathead willie

State:
    Virginia
    Thanks guys. That chart says a 180 grain (30-06) will fly 2500-2700 FPS. I'll have to check my notes to see what I'm getting now, but they don't even list the IMR 3031 on that chart. Remington factory loads claim about 2900 FPS.

8. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri