What type of stringer?

Discussion in 'Misc Fishing Tackle Talk' started by USE TO BE, Jun 25, 2007.

1. USE TO BE

USE TO BE New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I'm a newbie to the site and I wasn't sure where I shoud post this question. What type of stringer is the best. I've tried a rope stringer and the fish get so tangled up I have to cut the stringer to get them off. I also tried the cheap chain type stringer and bigger fish will pull the snaps open, not to mention you have to pull your entire catch out of the water to get a fish on it. What is the best type of stringer to use that won't tangle, will keep the fish on, and one where the entire catch does not have to be pulled to put a fish on?

I missed placing in a tourney this weekend because I lost my biggest fish to the chain type stringer I got a Wal Mart. Thanks.

2. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA
    Welcome to the BOC, from Alabama!!!! i use the rope style and just take the time to take them off. But would love to see what everone uses THANKS FOR ASKIN!!!!!!

3. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC. I would use the rope stringer for the ones I plan on keeping.

4. Tinybaum

Tinybaum New Member

State:
    Maryland
    You should be able to take an eye bolt and tie a thin but durable line to it. This will be stronger then the rope ones you get at the store, and you can make if for whatever length you want. Then on the other end tie a keychain ring make sure it is big enough for the eye bolt to fit through

I played around with it when I needed a longer stringer. The bank i was fishing on was 3-4ft drop that didnt leave much rope left on the store bought stringer to tie off to anything.

You can also look into the basket type holders, but getting the fish out stinks, and it doesnt work well for larger fish.

Tiny

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois