What type of set up do you all use on the rivers

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by DWB, Feb 17, 2007.

1. DWB

DWB Member

State:
    Missouri
    Since I am a novice at fishing on the Mississippi and Missouri I thought it might be interesting to find out what type of set ups you all use. I'm sure many will answer that they use many different setups for different situations.

For me, since i am new at this, I only know one way. I guess I should mention that I am fishing from a boat (usually anchored around some type of structure) and use large freshly caught live bait (shad or skip-jacks)

I use a 7.5 foot heavy action rod with a penn level wind clicker reel spooled with 60lb braided line. At the end of the line I attach a three-way swivel. Then attached to the three-way I put a large Gamakahtsu circle hook on about a five foot leader of the same 60# braided line and then to the other eye of the three-way I attach a large bank sinker (size depending on current) using 30# mono. My theory in using the 30# mono, right or wrong, is that if the sinker hangs up on a rock or something I can break the mono and keep the three-way and hook.

I would be much appreciative if any of you would share your fishing techniques/set-ups with me on here...

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Dan you may call yourself a novice but it does not sound that way. Sounds like you have the three way system down to a science. Some people use a float rig others use a carolina rig. I like the carolina rig witha a no-roll sinker.The sinker size is regulated by the current. 3-8 oz. The no roll sinkers is slid on the main line then a bead is added. Tie the main line to a 2/0 swivel, then attach a leader line with hook attached. This is called a carolina rig. There are more pictures and info in the BOC Library. Check them out and good fishing.:lol:

3. DWB

DWB Member

State:
    Missouri