What Type Of Mono Do You Prefer?

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by catfishrollo, Feb 20, 2009.

1. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I am an avid Berkley Big Game guy. I have been running this line for many years now, and like it very much! However, I am gonna go outside the box and buy some Cajun Red for testing purposes this year. I have used Stren Magna Thin, and others in the past only to be disappointed! I am not gonna run the Cajun on all my rods, just a couple. My question to you is, what type of mono do you like? I like one that stands well around heavy cover. Also ties well. And, do you prefer one over the other due to different conditions or area? Or do you just trust one and one only? ....rollo

2. Catfish_Commando

Catfish_Commando TF Staff Member

State:
    Georgia
    Stay with Big Game, you know that is some good line.

Now if Cajun Red sponsors you... :wink:

3. Dsage

Dsage Active Member

State:
    Topeka, Kansas
    I have had great luck with the Berkley Hi Test Big Game Hi Vis I think it is even more resistant to rocks and cover fatigue than the regular Big Game and with less memory and I like the Ande's Green Envy. But between the two I like the Hi Test better.

4. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo
    Ive tried many lines over the years and the 2 I like and use right now are

30 #lb test silver thread excalibur --- very low memory cast extremely well , and very abrastion resistent . and i love the stretch it has for circle hooks . I have this line on all my 6000 abus a couple 5500,6600.
    for still fishing in slack water or very slow current .

40#lb test big game Its done me very well and i love the hi vis green color , ya can find great deals on this line in bulk spools . has a little memory but i use this line on my 7000 abus and fish drom a boat and not casting very far so it fits me just fine .