What type of cat is this?

Discussion in 'LOCAL KENTUCKY TALK' started by RSVBill, Jul 29, 2007.

1. RSVBill

RSVBill New Member

State:
    kentucky
    hello everyone ,I am new to the web thingy here but not to the whole fishin thing,

So my family has a lake here in northern kentucky about 2 acres, I have been working to clean it up and make it more fisshy friendly to include diggin out with a back hoe all around the dam and making cover for bass and so on. this morning i took my wife fishing after a few hours of weed eating and tree trimming, we caught this cat, i am not sure what it is to sound funny I am attaching a pic,

this cat weighed 9 lbs and could not have been any more black in color that is my question ,

what are the guesses?

thanks

bill

Attached Files:

2. Phil Washburn

Phil Washburn New Member

State:
    Shawnee OK
    poor picture, Bill...looks fat like a blue and dark like a channel....catch another one and give us a better pic:big_smile:

3. RSVBill

RSVBill New Member

State:
    kentucky
    yeah unfortunatly I only had my Phone camera , it was definatly a healthy fish, i have never seen a cat black like this, do channels get dark? there were no spots at all, solid black small grey area on the belly.

i know the lake has channels, flats, and blues, all have been brough in while stocking it.

i will be sure to get a better camera to keep at the camp house for the next fish

thanks bill

4. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    Looking at the mouth, it looks more like a channel cat to me. I could be wrong but the pic doesn't reveal alot!!!

5. JEFFRO67

JEFFRO67 New Member

State:
    ILLINOIS
    Looks like a catfish to me :smile2: hard to tell by that pic though better get you a new camera. Nice fish though congrats.

6. KYTRAPPER

KYTRAPPER New Member

State:
    Floyd county,KY
    From the head and mouth, looks like a channel..Nice one at that:wink:

7. Scott Daw

Scott Daw New Member

State: