what to look at in a used boat?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by msucatfish, May 29, 2009.

1. msucatfish

msucatfish New Member

State:
    mississippi
    I don't have a lot of experience owning boats, ok so I have no experience owning a boat, always just got to fishing with a buddy and their boat, so I am looking into getting a used boat to fish with, will probably wait til the winter when people are selling more, so I just wanted to know what areas/qualities/structure/build/equipment should i check when looking at a used boat to make sure everything is in tip top shape?:confused2:

2. snakeman76

snakeman76 New Member

State:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I purchased my first boat in april it is a 14 foot alum with a 15 horse evinrude.The reason for this type was my budget,the kind of fishing I do and where I fish at which is small lakes rivers and streams. When making a purchase look the boat over top too bottom see if any structual repairs have been made and why make the owner operate all the equipment and the motor to show its in good repair finally I would git the owner to take you out on the water in the boat for a test drive. have a friend or relative who is knowledgable in boats help you find and make a purchase.I hope this helps you this was my first post so good luck and good fishing

3. Pip

Pip New Member

State:
    pa
    I'd say if your really unfamiliar with boats and what to look for. The first thing would be to get with somebody that is familiar with boats.

---person mechanically inclined that has been around them and somebody you trust.

Some things to look at....

---structural integrity. Not rotted out. welds cracked. pay close attention to the transom. a lot of older boats used wood in the transon. wood and water don't mix well. rotting is common, but not a death sentence.