What temperature do flathead catfish become inactivate?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by KansasKatCatcher, Oct 16, 2008.

1. KansasKatCatcher

KansasKatCatcher Active Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ka
    It's been getting in the lower 40's at night and i was just wondering if i was just wasting my bait and time trying to catch 1? What time of the year do you guys stop fishing for flatheads in your area?

2. patrickgd

patrickgd New Member

State:
    Memphis TN
    Welcome to the BOC Mike! That is a real nice Flat in your pic.

This is my first year for targeting Flatheads but from what I've heard and read they stay very active while the water temp is above 50. Around these parts the daytime temps have been around 80 and the night time temps in the mid 50's. The water temp right now is about 65-70 and the Flatheads are biting good.

Again Welcome and I hope this helps!:wink:

3. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    Both ways 55!!

:wink:

4. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    Flatheads are active year round but their motabolism slows dramastically anywhere below 50 degrees water temp. In colder water you almost have to put the bait on their nose.

5. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    well said walter... Ask ole JW if he believes me now.. I said this same thing last winter, and got beat up by some... JW busted a big flathead in dead winter while fishing for blues made a believer out of him:smile2: rollo

6. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    Im glad this thread came along. I once read an article where a giude was saying that the only way to catch flatties in winter is to snag them since they go inactive once water temp goes under 50. Im gonna keep trying this winter though since you guys say other wise.

7. Cuda-Cada

Cuda-Cada Member

State:
    Jacksonville, Fl.