What Structure do you look for?

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by Shallowdraft, Jun 15, 2007.

1. Shallowdraft

Shallowdraft New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    Hello...I'm new to this site and am very impressed so far...lots of good stuff here. My question is what type of structure do you guys look for on a river and a Reservoir When setting up for Channel Cats, Thanks.

2. circlehook

circlehook New Member

State:
    NE
    I'm no expert at large rivers, but I fish in small-meduim rivers. In rivers look for holes. Alot of times logjams will occur around them. Fish up or downstream from the logjams. Also look for slack water and oxbows. Some people also fish riffles. Never tried it myself, but should sometime:wink: Dams are also productive, including low-head dams.

In reservoirs, look for many things... drop offs, sandflats, standing timber, sumerged timber, bridges, creek channels, rip-rap, dams, feeder creeks, anything that will collect fish.

3. river scum

river scum New Member

State:
    hooterville indiana
    see my post down the thread list under(? for boaters) i dont feel like typing all that again. lol

4. Shallowdraft

Shallowdraft New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    Thanks guys..I get the idea. Pretty much the same structure as you would for other fish..Walleye, Bass etc.

5. Ol Man

Ol Man New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Yeah, Mike... chances are them cats are in there feedin' on them Walleye, Bass etc....:lol:

Welcome to the BOC...

Ol' Man
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Give according to your income, lest God will make your income like your giving.

6. jedt

jedt New Member

State:
    Cameron,Texas
    Most rivers in Texas are considered small to medium. Try fishing just below shallows or gravel bars for channels in rivers and creeks. They usually lay just below them to catch any food caught in the faster current. Channels in lakes tend feed in flats next to deeper water early and late in the day time as well as night this time of year.