What sized hook and sinkers are best for river fishing.

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Montgomery, Sep 24, 2006.

1. Montgomery

Montgomery New Member

State:
    OHIO
    what is the overall best size and named brands hooks and sinkers are generly ideal for all river sizes. and whats the best rig or hook sinker combination works best.

2. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    There is no particular best, it all depends on your fishing conditions. I mostly use anywhere from 3-6oz sinkers, and a Carolina Rig with Eagle Claw 10/0 "King Kahle" hooks.

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    All depends on the current..I have used 10-oz sinkers before.

4. Montgomery

Montgomery New Member

State:
    OHIO
    i'm new to this . what is a carolina rig

5. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    Here is the order I do a carolina rig-

Slide my sinker on the line.

Make a leader about 10 or more inches long with 50lb mono line, and tie my hook on one end of the leader and swivel to the other end.

Then you just tie your line to the swivel.

When a fish grabs your bait and runs if you have a baitclicker on or freeliner the fish will not feel your sinker and usually will run better giving you longer to hook him.

Hope this helps, if not I can try to get a picture of the rig.

6. Montgomery

Montgomery New Member

State:
    OHIO
    hey thank you man . your the first person to give me detailed info . that i can understand. i usually need some type of picture or hands on teaching . i do very poor at reading directions or advice. if i dont know what its supposed to look like. i dont know if i did it right . i'm trying to learn all the in's and out of catfishing . i want to completly anf fully understand it like and art. so i can learn to tear them up any time day or night .lol

7. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)