What size carp?

Discussion in 'LOCAL ARIZONA TALK' started by force61, Oct 1, 2009.

1. force61

force61 New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Hi Everyone. I was wondering how large of carp you can use for going for flatheads. I have a pond close to my house that has plenty of them but they are all about 12" to 14". I'm thinking they are to big to use whole, but I'm thinking about maybe using them as cutbait. Even if I was to use them live I'm thinking it would be hard to keep them weighted down since they pull so hard for their size. Also alot of them apear to be cross bred with koi and golfish. It's the wierdest thing I've ever seen. I've attatched a couple of pictures so you can see the size of them. Thanks everyone for the great info, this is my first time posting and have been creeping around for about a month or so now soaking up all of the great tips.

Attached Files:

2. Joey6500

Joey6500 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I wish I could find carp that small.Those would be good bait around here.
    I'd weight them down with 4-5 oz of lead

3. Rcaarizona

Rcaarizona New Member

State:
    AZ
    Which pond is that.

4. Overkil

Overkil New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Hey Ryan - welcome the the BOC! there are flatheads in our waters that are plenty big enough to swollow a carp that size whole...problem is game & fish regs prohibit anglers moving fish from one body of water to another for bait purposes (or any reason for that matter). thanks for posting!

5. JEFFRODAMIS

JEFFRODAMIS New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    use those suckers whole!!! 9 oz will hold them after they get tired lol those look awesome!:big_smile:

6. Rcaarizona

Rcaarizona New Member

State:
    AZ
    That first pic, is either a goldfish, or a cross breed, that dorsal fin doesnt have that high hump in front, and carp dont have tails like that. where is this pond at?

7. force61

force61 New Member

State:
    Arizona