What sinkers in the Mississippi River?

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by SkipEye, Jul 2, 2007.

1. SkipEye

SkipEye Well-Known Member

State:
    Winfield, MO
    Name:
    Darryl
    When you need a no-roll sinker bigger than an 8 oz what do you use. I can't find a mold bigger than 8 oz for the no roll sinkers.

I prefer a slip sinker rig as it seems to tangle on itself less in the rivers current. (as compared to a drop-sinker setup)

But.......... what do I know? I am still learning.

Please enlighten me with your wisdom folks...........

What I really want to know ultimately is if you can fish a spot in the river other than straight DOWNSTREAM of the boat? Because that is where my lines always end up, even with 8 oz of lead tied on.

2. Grumper

Grumper New Member

State:
    Crystal City MO
    I don't have a problem at all finding molds for the bigger sinkers. Try Ebay, it seems there are several different molds on there for the bigger no-rolls. I do know that Dunn's Sporting goods carrys the molds for 14 and 16 ounce no-rolls. I would also try Bluff City tackle in Alton IL. They carry all of the big sinkers. Somtimes I will ocassionally use two of the 8's on one rod if I don't have anything larger. Now that I have the larger sinkers, that isn't a problem.

3. SkipEye

State:
    Winfield, MO
    Name:
    Darryl
    Okay Gary, you have officially lost your mind.

Tried both Dunns and Bluff City. No one carries a no-roll larger than the 8 oz by Do-It Molds.

Can you be a little more specific about exactly what kind of molds you are using. (Even if they are a figment of your imagination?) :wink:

4. River_monster91

River_monster91 New Member

State:
    central kansas
    i know a guy that used to use spark plugs when fishing in the big rivers around here...dont know if they would work in the miss. but they worked good here

5. Todd Strong

Todd Strong Active Member

State:
    Cambridge, Ne
  6. SkipEye

State:
    Winfield, MO
    Name: