What line of 4x4 do you think?

Discussion in '4X4 Truck Talk and Repairs' started by WaltonsMountain, Jul 24, 2009.

1. WaltonsMountain

WaltonsMountain New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    Hey guys I'm looking for a decent "good ol truck". I won't be hauling tons of stuff, but would like the capability if I need it so i'd like the power to be there. I'll mostly be using it to get in and out of tight spots while goin' fishin. Needs to be 4x4 and last over 200k. My budget is around $7000 (taxes & licensing included)...any suggestions?

I dont care if its not the newest truck, I just want ol' reliable that still looks pretty good. Im new to the truck world so I don't know what brand or line of trucks to go after. :embarassed: I heard Ford Rangers were pretty good... any help would be appreciated!

Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  2. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    I owned one Ranger 4X4 and put about 284,000 miles on it before I sold it to a neighbor who drove it for a long time until the manual transmission went out, then he removed the engine and installed it in another truck. :big_smile:
    The F150 that replaced the Ranger has over 200,000 miles now, and so far I haven't had any significant problems with it, either.
    I don't pet them, but I do believe in keeping them maintained.

3. GMC FishHauler

GMC FishHauler New Member

State:
    Waco, Texas, Un
    I am not a Ford fan..but I have to say this. You can find some really good deals on the 7.3 Powerstroke right now. They are good trucks and can haul whatever you need.
    Also, look at the 95-98 Dodge Cummins. They should be well under your price range for a truck in decent shape. If you want to go to the top end of your price range the 99-02 Dodge diesels are there. It will take some serious hunting around but you can find them for under $6500 and in great shape.