what kind of release if any

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by switchback, Sep 18, 2008.

1. switchback

switchback New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Alright guys i was wandering what kind of realease you shoot with or if you shoot fingers? I use a tru ball stinger and absolutely love it, but i also practice with fingers just in case i loose my release on the way to the stand even though i put it on on the way out the door. I have learned that even though you try to keep your release with you at all times you still can forget it, so i started practicing without it just in case and am proud to say if i ever do forget it and get a shot im comfortable taking a shot out to 35 yards with fingers on my Mathews Switchback.

2. bigcatmaniac

bigcatmaniac New Member

State:
    California Miss
    Well i have two releases that i take with me. My favorite is a Scott Wildcat, my other one is made by H&H Archery Products im not sure what its called but it used to be my dads and its always in my bow case just incase i loose my other one somewhere.

Good Luck this year!!!!

3. kennylee

kennylee New Member

State:
    Missouri -
    swichback, what kind of rest do you use? Shooting fingers puts a horizontal force on the string at release as the string moves over the tips of your fingers, this force kicks the arrow to the right and then it kicks left as it contacts the bow or the rest for a righthanded shooter and this allows the fletchings to clear the rest with out contact (ie. recurve bows and compounds with berger button rest). Release aids work on a vertical force and push down on the arrow at release (ie. TM hunter style rests and dropaways). The only rest style you may get the best of both world might be a whiskerbisciut.
    Back to the question, I strap on my little mongoose release before leaving for the stand that way I always have it with me when I get to the stand. Good luck hunting, and I'll be waiting to see your post with one of those giant illinois bucks.