What I've learned here's coming in handy

Discussion in 'Shad Talk' started by Ictalurus Punctatus, Apr 7, 2007.

1. Ictalurus Punctatus

Ictalurus Punctatus New Member

State:
    Greensboro, NC
    For the second consecutive trip last night I was able to catch shad for bait with a casting net. Trivial to good fishermen, I know, but to me, accomplishing what is commonplace for a good fisher, means I'm getting better. I'm very new to fishing out of a boat and don't really have anyone to go with me who can show me things. Most of what I know came from the BOC, the rest was from my own experience trying something I read on the BOC. Thanks to everyone who's offered advice on this board.

Jon

2. waterwalker

waterwalker New Member

State:
    Louisville Ohio
    Most things we learn in life are done with trial and error and of coarse with a little help from a friend.

3. EricM

EricM Active Member

State:
    Cleveland TN
    Congratulations! It wasn't that long ago that I too had the thrill of finally pulling in the net and having that silver flash in it! There is something special about learning for yourself how to do things. There is nothing trivial about your accomplishment! All of the advice in the world won't get it done, you have to go out and apply that advice to your own situation. I just about burst when I finally caught a blue cat that weighed 8 pounds! And then a 10 pounder! With the 22 lb blue I didn't even quit hyperventilating before I called my wife to tell her! I don't think we need to discuss what happend to my lucky fishing pants with that first one over 60. :eek:oooh: Because something appears to be commonplace doesn't mean that the excitement is gone, it just means that we don't have to change our underwear (as often). Be proud of each of your accomplishments, it takes a lot of failures to achieve them! Congratulations again!

4. dankitch

dankitch New Member

State:
    Henderson,