What I've been fishing for, for the last 15 years or so...

Discussion in 'LOCAL GEORGIA TALK' started by Owl, May 22, 2009.

1. Owl

Owl New Member

State:
    Gainesvill
    [​IMG]

The Southern Appalachian brook trout.

And this is typical of the places we go to get 'em...

[​IMG]

and sometimes you run into this.....and have to climb it or go around. In the case of the waterfall in this photo, the sides were too steep to go around, so we climbed right up the face. Fun? Not so much. :) ( I'm about done with all the adventuring of chasing brook trout, matter of fact. LOL)

[​IMG]

Just thought I'd share with you the beautiful little fish I've been after for all these years. They aren't big - a large one would be 10 inches or so...but they are pretty and they live in some wonderful places.

but i still want to go catfishing right now. LOL :roll_eyes:

PS - I tired to embed the photos into the post, but apparently the forums aren't set up to do that - or am I just missing an option somewhere? thanks.

2. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    that was cool Owl, its like hunting and fishing at the same time. very cool.

3. Owl

Owl New Member

State:
    Gainesvill
    Thanks Matt...it is a little like hunting. A couple weekends ago in a stream in GA, we didn't stalk up on the creek very well and I was standing way too close to the pool we were fishing. Kinda out on a rock ledge....
    Well, I hooked a little rainbow, and as he was thrashing around, another trout - maybe a brown trout - came up and tried to eat him! My buddy and I figured that the bigger trout conservatively measured at least 17 or 18 inches. A MONSTER for wild trout in GA. Of course, he spooked when he saw me standing over his hole and took off like he was shot out of a cannon!
    But I know where he lives. ;) LOL

4. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana