What items to carry in a boat ?

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by beakus, Nov 21, 2006.

1. beakus

beakus New Member

State:
    derby kansas
    i'm new to the boat world so tell me what are the esentals to carry in a boat.

2. heavyduty

heavyduty New Member

State:
    Grand Gulf,MS
    Top 3 safety items in my boat are life jackets, extra fuel, and fire ext.
    I also carry :
    basic tool set
    extra tackle
    rain gear
    fish skinnin pliers
    cuttin board
    cooler with drinks and food
    spot light
    insect repellant
    sun blocker lotion
    I prolly forgot some items but maybe this will give you a good idea of what you will need to bring out with you on a boating trip.

Hope this helps.

3. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky
    scotts got a pretty good list but id add a tent or tarp some dry paper or kindling in case you have to spend the night some where also a radio flashlight , signal flares , extra rope , extra clothing , a mirror for signaling , a whistle and a compass and an oar or push pole

heres the contents of my boat : life jackets 4 , throw cutions or floats 2 , rain suits 2 , 200 foot of rope , a tarp , a mirror , a whistle , a battery less flashlight (the one you shake) , an oar , fire extiguisher , a dip net with extendible handle 12 ft (also used as push pole ) , a tool kit ; wreches and pliers , extra set of plugs , extra wire , rtv sealent and of course my fishing tackle

4. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    The items to carry would depend on where you are going and what kind of boat you have.

You've gotten some good advice so far as to what to start out with. Let me just add a few other items that I carry in my boat - in case they were not mentioned already.

A throw floatation device - the kind you sit on.
    Spare fishing rods and tackle.
    An extra anchor.
    A tow rope - 100 foot - in case you need to get towed.