What is your equipment recommendation for James River Catfishing?

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by messemore, Jun 3, 2009.

1. messemore

messemore New Member

State:
    Virginia
    When fishing for that big cats on the James.

What kind of rods and reels do you uses?

What size & type line do you uses?

What kind of rigging do you uses? Float? Bottom?

If you use weight how heave is the weight?

What kind of hooks? Circles?

2. CatsNstripers

CatsNstripers New Member

State:
    Smith Mountain
    I'm not a big expert on the Tidal James, I've only been a few times. but i'll give me .02 cents worth

Reels, Abu Garcia 6500c3 with the Power handle, And/Or 7000c3

Rods, Its Hard to beat. Ugly Stiks and Ugly Stik Tiger Rods

Line, Trilene Big Game 30-40lb test

Rigs, Carolina Rig. sinker, 100lb test Billfisher Swivel, 50-80lb Flourcarbon Leader (Yozuri-disapearing Pink) then snell knot to the Hook

weights, 2-8ounces. Bank Sinker on a Macmahon sinker slide(the plastic ones break) Or a slip through No Roll

Hooks, Circles Always. b/c theres always a release. Gamakatsu 8/0-10/0 Octopus circle

3. JPritch

JPritch New Member

State:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Travis pretty much hit it on the head.

I'll just list what I use:
    Reel: Penn 320GT2
    Rod: MH Ugly Stik Tigers (BWC2202)
    Line: 40# Berkley big game mono in moss green (also have one with 80# moss green power pro...definitely use braid on smaller line capacity reels)
    Swivel: Spro 130# power swivel (love the SPRO's b/c they are super small but strong)
    Lead: 8oz minimum up to 12oz. There are times when 12oz won't hold out to the side, but I can't find bigger weights.
    Sinker Slider: alot use the plastic ones, but they wear through due to the line going through them. I've switched to using saltwater snap swivels (Tsunami), and they last forever.
    Bead: use a bead to protect the main line knot attached to the swivel.