What is the best weather 4 bass?

Discussion in 'Bass Fishing' started by bigwig531, Jan 3, 2008.

1. bigwig531

bigwig531 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    i am rather new to fishing and hunting, so i have alot to learn.

i was bored the other day so i went after work, it was a little cold but i thought they would hit a top-water popper or jitterbug. i tryed everything, hula-popper, different color jitters, plastic worms, even night crawlers. got nothing, didnt even see a fish.
    my question is, are bass active in cold water and with what bait?
    hows about catfish are they active right now? i know a pond with hundred of albino channels you can see then on the edge of the dock moving about, for the life of me i cant catch them, have cast and waited 3 and 4 hours and got nothing, also lots of bluegill to steal the bait.

all i can catch is kitty fish, i swear i caught one smaller then my pliars in my tackle box.

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Kevin Welcome to the BOC.Fishing this time of year in your area the bass would probably relaate to a 3/8 oz black jig with a #11 Brown Uncle Josh pork frog on the hook.This is a starting place. In cold water think slow. The darker the water color the darker the bait.Good Luck

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    I couldn't agree with Mickey more, slow it way way down when the water is cold. The crankbait "wiggle-warts",bite has been good in southern missouri for a couple weeks. Next thing up is rogue fishing if there is much of a shad die-off. All in all, i prefer a jig n pig as my favorite bait year round.

4. bigwig531

bigwig531 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    this is very helpful i'll try these soon as i head back out to the water, i plan on doing just that tomorrow night.

thanks guys.

are kitty fish active this time of year? back in sumer i couldnt catch anything day or night.

thanks

5. shania

shania New Member

State:
    San Leandro, Ca