What is the best way to present a live carp?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by AZflats, Oct 12, 2005.

1. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    Howdy friends,
    Anybody have any secret tips for presenting live carp for giant flatheads? I mostly fish the large reservoirs here in AZ for flatheads.. But I can't seem to break the 30# BARRIER.. I want to try the bigger bait, bigger fish theory, but was unsure on hook size, bait size, and hook positioning..

* Hope someone can help..
    Take care..

2. fourteenfootcat

fourteenfootcat New Member

State:
    Big Spirit Lake, Iowa
    Ok, here we go. Now I am rather new at this myself, but this has been my experience. Flatheads go for 1 lb to 3 lb carp. Any bigger and I get muskie hits all the time. We don't want muskies (at least I don't), we want 40 - 60 lb plus flatheads.

Hooks. I hook carp and sheephead behind the dorsel fin always. No exceptions. You need a wide gap hook for this. Buy an assortment of 17/0 to 20/0 Sea Circle Hooks from CatfishConnection.com. I buy by the hundreds and paint them red with paint that is non-toxic and environmentally friendly. I add juice from fresh cherries to give the hooks a deep red color. Little technique I picked up from a wise man. Colors I experiment with are blue, chartreuse, and purple. I've gotten hits on all of them.

Position the hook so the barb will NOT hook back into the flesh of the fish...but keep it deep enough so the carphead is secured and won't try any funny business like getting off your line. I use 8-20 ounces of weight depending on current, size of bait, and overall castability. I try to use flat, pancake sinkers or lots of spoon shaped ones to do the job.