What is a good way to keep your line tight when its windy

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Bigcat1, Aug 31, 2006.

1. Bigcat1

Bigcat1 New Member

State:
    ohio
    My question is this when you are catfishing and its windy what can u do to make it where your line doesnt go everywhere,right now i use a pop can,when i cast my line out i leave the bail open and wrap the line around a can then when the cat takes it the can will fall over,please HELP! I am new to the boc and some things i dont get so please explain.

2. copycat

copycat New Member

State:
    New Jersey
    More weight on the rig will help. Unless line is being stripped from you reel, tighten the clicker or just close the bail. If you are using a spinning reel than I would close the bail for sure. I have the Shimano Baitrunner 4500, which is a spinning reel that also has an adjustable clicker. Most baitcasters have a clicker that you can tighten down. Theres nothing I hate more than fishing in very windy conditions though.

3. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I gave up fighting the wind and leave slack in my line. Them I just wait for the line to straighten out are jump around and I know I have a bite. When its gusty I just up the size of my sinker so that the line can be tight and I also try to keep the tip of my rod closer to the water.

4. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    Mike

If your out a way the small diameter super lines work much better than mono along with more weight as stated above( up to 8 oz for me). If you leave slack in your line it MAY even get worse due to more line in the wind.