What Hook should I use?

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by turtle, Aug 17, 2006.

1. turtle

turtle New Member

State:
    Mo
    :confused2: Hello everyone. Im new at this river fishing and need some help finding the right hook. i dont want a hook that you have to wait and let the fish run before you set it. and im after the bigger cats so i will need to know the size of hook to. Any info would be great
    P.S. This is by far the best website.

2. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    welcome Turtle. I would use a size 5/0 and larger in the stile of hook you like.

3. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

from a 3/0-7/0 j-hook are a khale hook would be your best bet IMO. Good luck Brother.

4. M.Magis

M.Magis Member

State:
    SE Ohio
    It doesn't matter what hook you use, you have to be certain the fish has the bait all the way in it's mouth.

5. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    M. Magis has a great point......BUT the fish decides if the hook is all the way in its mouth, not us (OPINION)!! 80% of the Flatheads I get are on a mode on cut bait that I call the "LITE BITE", circles will not work when they are doing this to me for they will only mouth the bait and not run with it. Yes I could use circles and give up 80% of my fish, dah.

Most should say that you need to match the size hook to the fish and the bait so you if the bigger cats I would say an 6/0 or bigger.

6. teaysvalleyguy

teaysvalleyguy New Member

State:
    GC, OHIO
    Welcome to the BOC brother. Great to have another new member.

I use 7/0 Kahles for just about everything.

7. Arkansascatman777

Arkansascatman777 New Member

State:
    AR
    Welcome to the BOC Turtle. Get a box of Eagle Claw nickle plated 7/0 kahles this is a good all around hook that will catch small and large fish and you dont have to learn how to use it just bait it and set the hook:lol: .

8. jdstraka

jdstraka Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State: