What do you remember about your Math class?

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by mtrimble, Mar 9, 2006.

1. mtrimble

mtrimble New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I teach college algebra to incoming freshmen here at the university. 90% of them absolutely hate math. I try my best but they are really hard to get fired up about mathematics. What have your guys experiences been with mathematics classes you had in the past or present? Did you hate it? Was there anything your teacher never explained? Was there anything that you thought your teacher could have done better? Im just looking for feedback from the other side of the chalkboard since im hardpressed to get any feedback from my students.
    -Matt

2. JReed

JReed New Member

State:
    Lima, Ohio
    I hated math too, all of it. I was an A student and graduated with a D+ in Algebra.
    Several of my classes I had an average over 100%

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I hated math, I failed algebra, I just could not understand it..If you took away algebra I would have been fine. .my teacher could have spent 12 hrs a day with me and I still would not have understood it, and I think it was because I found it so boreing I did not want to learn it.

4. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Also, that was 30 years ago, and I have never had a job, or situation that I needed to know algebra..Algebra is the main reason I dropped out of School, and got my G.E.D...Sorry to sound so down on the subject, but it brings back bad memories.:sad:

5. snifflucky

snifflucky New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I loved my math classes. Staight A's for me. As for the other classes, mainly English, I didn't do so well. C average in English.

I think I enjoyed Math for the end result. Working, and working to figure out the equasion, and seeing how I got the answer. It was kind of like a puzzle to me.