What do you bait your minnow trap with.

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by moondog58, Aug 18, 2009.

1. moondog58

moondog58 New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    I use crackers and bread to bait my minnow trap with.

But I have not had too much luck catching minnows this last couple of months.

What else could I try? Anyone have any good minnow baits?

2. Jedicazador

Jedicazador New Member

State:
    TN
    I'm fairly new at catching minnows, at first I used crackers and old bread but wasnt having much luck at it. I started to use a little bit of dry dog food, I was filling my nets in a very short time. Good luck

3. SGTREDNECK

SGTREDNECK New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Welcome to the BOC Mike and Mark. I bait my traps with dog food, bread crackers and sometimes dead fish. Good luck on the minner quest

4. CatsNstripers

CatsNstripers New Member

State:
    Smith Mountain
    I would guess your using the cylinder style minnow trap for I'm guessing creek minnows and chubs. Bread and crackers work, ok. What we use is wet dog food. Mighty dog to be exact. but anything cheap. If your bait trap has a bait cage to hold you bait. simply open the can and disperse half the amount into the cage. If it does not. simply just put half the can in a small piece of hose tie both ends in a not. Or you can just punch several holes into the can and place the hose or can inside the trap. The wet food puts out a scrent trail for the baits to follow. Works best in creeks or rivers with current to carry the scent trail. But does also work well in ponds or lakes.. Remember some states prohibit the catch of bluegills and sunfish in traps or net, hook and line only. check your states regulations.

5. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    I use white stryofoam pieces. It works. When I put the trap out I try to get the stryofoam in the middle part of the trap. I am going to tie it in the middle when I set them again.

6. cantstopgrandma