What depths should I be fishing flatties in?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by walongtree, Apr 26, 2008.

1. walongtree

walongtree New Member

State:
    NC
    I know that the fish follow the bait during different times of year. What are their general movements in the spring, summer and fall. I am fairly new to the sport and actually caught my second flathead two week ago in about 12’ of water adjacent to a deeper channel. I am fishing in High Rock lake a river feed body of water. What end of the lake should I be heading to. The north end of lake is called the mud flats this is where the river enters the body of water; it has variable depths due to siltation bust most of it is less than 15’. Should I run up the river and try to find holes with structure or what? Help from any one that fishes the lake or knows anything fishing flatheads would be appreciated.

DL

2. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Hey Drew welcome to the BOC its good to have you aboard one thing that I have noticed about catching flatheads most of them are caught in warmer water, and sometimes there in some deep wholes around structure and other things, if I was you I would find a deep whole of water and put a small blue gill on your hook and fish on bottom, because most of the flatties stay on the bottom feeding, and blue gill seems to be one of there favorite things to eat, I hope this has helped you keep us posted and let us know how you do and good luck and I hope you catch you a nice fish.

3. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent
    Welcome Drew, Would depend on a few things, but never over look the shallow water......

4. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    Drew, welcome to the B.O.C., best catfishing community on the planet.